“Mario and Giuseppe Francese” Award, won by Lara Sirignano and Domenico Iannacone


By John

I am Lara Sirignano And Domenico Iannacone the winners of the XXV edition of Mario and Giuseppe Francese Journalism Award. The awards ceremony, hosted by Rai journalist from Tgr Sicilia Lidia Tilotta, will take place on Tuesday 6 February at the Santa Cecilia Theater in Palermo. The Mario Francese Award goes to Lara Sirignano. The Ansa reporter and her way of carrying out the journalistic profession are recognized for her independence, timeliness and civil commitment. Lara Sirignano follows Mario Barresi, winner of the award in 2022. Domenico Iannacone, reporter and presenter – among others – of The Ten Commandments broadcast on Rai Tre, is awarded for his ability to combine the best tradition of journalism in his narration Italian with echoes of neorealist cinema and Pasolini’s investigation. In 2022 the Giuseppe Francese Prize went to Lucia Sgueglia. The reasons for the awarding of the two prizes will be made known during the ceremony. Guest of the 2023-24 edition of the French Prize will be Edoardo Purgatori, actor and son of the journalist Andrea Purgatori, who will be awarded the French Prize in memory.
“Go, see, tell. The challenge of journalism” is the theme of the film competition which represents the section of the Mario and Giuseppe Francese Award reserved for schools. There are eight finalist schools: (in alphabetical order) Archimede (Messina) with the video The Honourable, the Man of Honour, the Honest; Benedetto Croce (Palermo) with the video Il pace dell’onda; Calvino-Amico (Trapani) with the video I hear, I see, I speak; Danilo Dolci (Palermo) with the video The Anti-Mafia Puppet Opera; Minutoli (Messina) with the video Truth of yesterday and today; Rosina Salvo (Trapani) with the video The profession of journalist between yesterday and today; Sciascia-Fermi (Sant’Agata di Militello) with the video The voice of the future; Vittorio Emanuele III (Palermo) with the video I hate indifference. One of these will be the work awarded by the Commission, which is chaired by Gaetano Savatteri and composed of Felice Cavallaro, Salvatore Cusimano, Silvia Francese, Roberto Gueli, Tiziana Martorana, Franco Nicastro, Nello Scavo and Lidia Tilotta. During the event there will also be some musical moments organized by The Brass Group foundation.