Province of Vibo Valentia, voting on February 26th. President L’Andolina calls elections for the renewal of the Provincial Council


By John

The president of the Province of Vibo Valentia, Corrado Antonio L’Andolina, with a specific decree (n.1 of 8 January 2024), he called the elections for the renewal of the Provincial Council for Monday 26 February 2024. Voting operations will take place from 8 am to 8 pm in the council room of the Vibo area intermediate body.
According to the provisions of current legislation, the electors are the mayors and councilors of the 50 municipalities included in the territory of the Province “in office on the thirty-fifth day prior to the day of the vote or in any case on the same date being proclaimed for consultations already called and completed”. Mayors and municipal councilors in office are eligible to be provincial councillors. The election of the Provincial Council takes place with a “direct, free and secret” vote attributed to lists made up of a number of candidates not exceeding that of the councilors to be elected (the legislation provides for 10 seats for the Province of Vibo Valentia, since it falls within the range of territories with a population of less than 300 thousand inhabitants) and not less than half of them. On the lists, neither sex can be represented in excess of 60% of the number of candidates. The lists of candidates must be signed by at least 5% of the electoral body, resulting from the general list of those entitled to vote, approved and published on the body’s website within 30 days (27 January 2024) from the voting date. Each voter expresses a single vote for one of the candidates, which is weighted pursuant to article 1 of Law no. 56 of 2014, the so-called “Delrio”.
The lists will be presented to the Electoral Office – specifically established in the headquarters of the Province of Vibo and chaired by the general secretary of the body, Domenico Arena – from 8 am to 8 pm on 5 February 2024 and from 8 am to 12 pm on 6 February 2024.
Currently the Provincial Council is composed as follows: Roberto Scalfari, Daniele Galeano, Giuseppe Leone, Marilena Briga (Forza Italia); Elisa Fatelli, Carmine Mangiardi, Alessandro Lacquaniti (Courage Italy); Domenico Tomaselli, Marco Miceli, Maria Teresa Centro (The Province of the Future).
«As enshrined in our Constitutional Charter, elections are a fundamental act of democracy, – stated President Corrado L’Andolina. Even according to the canons established by current legislation, which provides for voting only for mayors and city councilors, it will still be a moment of institutional participation. An opportunity to freely exercise one’s vote in the interest of the citizens and the territorial reality of the Province of Vibo Valentia.”