Aurélie Tourte, who is the referee who damaged Sinner: incredible double fault by Tsitsipas not seen


By John

Jannik Sinner missed the final in Monte Carlo, an important tournament (ATP Master 1000) which opens the clay season. A match that seemed destined to turn in the Italian's favor when at 4-2 he had the chance to make a second break but a refereeing error (the Greek's ball clearly went out and wasn't called) prevented him from doing so. Then a muscular problem arose for the South Tyrolean which affected his performance and lowered his level of play, while Tsitsipas' level has always remained very high.

Aurélie Tourte is among the best known and most appreciated chair judges on the global scene. French, 38 years old, she is the only woman to hold this role full-time in the world tennis circuit where she has worked for five years. She has a past as a tennis player, but then she became passionate about the world of refereeing and in 2017 she received the golden badge award, which is the highest level in the refereeing sector. There are only 34 on the professional circuit (21 men and 13 women), and this makes us understand the international caliber of Aurélie Tourte who dedicated herself solely to the tennis universe, abandoning the profession of nurse.

She became famous in 2020 when she disqualified Novak Djokovic at the US Open, because the Serbian tennis player throws a ball not in play against a third person (considered “ball abuse”). At the recent Australian Open you were the line judge in the final won by Jannik Sinner against the Russian Daniil Medvedev.

Sinner: “The judge's mistake? To be accepted, but it's not simple”

Jannik Sinner does not lose his fair play despite the defeat in the semifinals in Monte Carlo: physical problems and above all the error of the chair umpire which allowed Stefanos Tsitsipas to save himself from the double break in the third set, influenced the blue's match which However, in the press conference, as in his style, he avoids controversy. “It happened and there is nothing more we can do – his words – This is already a thing of the past. It's hard to accept it, I was playing really well at that time. Everything was going in the right direction tactically. Unfortunately, or fortunately , everyone can make mistakes. I could be wrong too.” Sinner then adds: “Afterwards I had some cramps, perhaps because of what happened, because it affects your nerves too, and it's difficult to play do my best. Stefanos raised the level of the game. I know I could have stopped the game but that's not my job, his position was very favorable, because it was the easiest line. But you have to accept it. Each of us makes mistakes. We have to take it with a smile.” Then speaking about his physical condition, Sinner reassures: “It's nothing serious. I played a lot of games. In the end I made the semi-final again in a Masters 1000. Now I need time to recover. Madrid will be a tournament of total preparation for Rome and Paris, because we will work in the gym”, he concluded.