European elections: the first stages of the tenth legislature of the new EU Parliament


By John

In the legislature that ends – the ninth – the European Parliament has dealt with 467 legislative actsof which 370 completed And 97 remained pending and they will have to be carried forward by the new Parliament that will be born from yesterday’s vote.

Work of the tenth legislature

The works of tenth legislature will officially kick off on July 16th with the first plenary in Strasbourg (until the 19th). The first act will beelection of the president. It takes place by an absolute majority of voters. If a majority is not reached for three ballots, a run-off is held on the fourth ballot between the two candidates with the most votes in the third. The fourteen vice presidents and five commissioners are then elected. Before convening the plenary, meetings of the parliamentary groups will be held and presumably there will be maneuvers to form new ones or in any case to move delegations between groups. For the formation of a group they are needed at least 23 deputies that they represent at least seven countries. There are currently seven groups: Ppe (Fi), S&d (Pd), Renew (Az-Iv), Verdi, Ecr (Fdi), Id (Lega), La Sinistra. Then there is the ‘group of non-members. Between non-members and newcomers, for now there are around a hundred MEPs still looking for a political roof in the European hemicycle.

Meetings for group formation

The meetings for the formation of the groups will be held between 18 June (the EPP) and the July 3 (Id). On 19 June the Greens; on 25 June S&d and the Left; June 26 Renew and Ecr. After the election of the President of the European Parliament, the vote for the confirmation of the President of the Commission is set. Generally it takes place in the plenary session of the following month, however this year it could be brought forward to the first plenary session, presumably between 18 and 19 July. Obviously only if the states have found an agreement on the name to be proposed for the leadership of the European executive (in the European Council of 27-28 June). The President of the Commission must be approved by an absolute majority of the members of Parliament, i.e 361. In the months of September October (or October-November) hearings will be held in the parliamentary commissions of the twenty-six commissioners who will be proposed for the new college. Generally at least one name is rejected by MEPs. Finally, the vote takes place in plenary on the entire college and is by simple majority. Then the new Commission can officially begin its mandate. The von der Leyen Commission took office on 1 December 2019.