Russia blocks Rai, La7, Repubblica and Stampa websites


By John

As a retaliatory measure against the similar decision by Brussels, Russia will limit access on its territory to the broadcasts of numerous media from EU member states. This was announced by the Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs as reported by Ria Novosti.

“In response to the decision taken by the EU Council on May 17 to ban “any television activity of three Russian media outlets (RIA Novosti, Izvestia and Rossiyskaya Gazeta), which comes into force today, June 25, countermeasures are being introduced by restricting access from the territory of the Russian Federation to the radio and television resources of a number of media outlets of the European Union member states and European media operators that systematically spread false information about the conduct of the special military operation,” the Foreign Ministry said in a statement.

The list of media outlets, published by the Russian ministry, for which countermeasures are being introduced to limit broadcasting and access to Internet resources from the territory of the Russian Federation, includes outlets from more than 20 EU countries, including the Austrian ORF, the Hungarian portal 444, the German newspapers Der Spiegel, Die Zeit and Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, the Spanish newspapers El Mundo, El Pais, the Efe agency, the Italian newspapers La Stampa, La Repubblica, Rai, the French newspapers Le Monde, La Croix and Agence France-Presse, Politico, Euobserver and others.